Exhibitions and Events

Link to Past Exhibition and Workshops

2019 EXHIBITIONS PROGRAMME

David Douglas Retrospective
Wednesday 19th to Sunday 30th June 

An exhibition of the artworks by the late artist and respected former art teacher at Kingussie High School.
Open 10a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, entry free. 

“Throw Up 20.18”
Thursday 4th to Sunday 28th July – main gallery – entry free

HighLife Highland touring exhibition of original artworks created by the Artists in Residence in three shinty clubs in the Highland Print Studio’s Project. 
Open 1 to 5 p.m. Mon. to Sat. up to Sat 13th and 10am to 5pm seven days a week from Mon 15th to Sun 28th entry free.

‘Extra Time’  
Thursday 4th to Saturday 13th July – small gallery – entry free


Shinty-related work by members of SBSA including paintings, photography and a rolling on screen display of hundreds of shinty photographs from recent years, with many local faces to spot amongst a real flavour of what shinty is all about.

“Soul Food”
Mon 15th to Sun 28th July 10am to 5pm daily – small gallery – entry free
An exhibition of recent work from David and Lena Fallows

“Wild Things”
Saturday 3rd to Saturday 17th August.SBSA Members’ Annual Summer Exhibition
Open 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, entry free.

“Badenoch Great Places, Great Art competition”
Tuesday 20th to Saturday 31st August
Badenoch Great Places Project– Bringing the Cultural Heritage of the Past into the 21st Century
Exhibition of all the competition entries by students in the Badenoch Primary and High Schools and by adults living and working or with an interest in the area and its culture as part of the Badenoch Great Places Project.
Open to the public from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, entry free. 

“Borders”
Saturday 7th to Saturday 28th September 

‘FLOW’ touring exhibition – Selected photographic exhibitions on this theme as part of the Flow Photofestival.
Open from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Mon – Sat, entry free.

Erica Robb – Transience
The paintings derive from subjects in Scotland and Spanish mountains, responding to things of nature.  Many have elements of human intervention such as mountainside terraces or cultivated trees, some are of humans themselves.  The freedom of nature to shape itself and human’s work to moderate natural form is reflected in the manner of painting: at times controlled, at others allowing the materials to find their own way in creating the image.

Monday 7th October – Saturday 12th October – both galleries

 SBSA Annual Christmas Fair.
Open Thursday 28th November to Sunday 1st December. 

Exhibition and sale of original arts and crafts made by members of the SBSA.
Opening times to be decided later. 

Small Gallery Hire

As usual, there are a number of dates where the small gallery is available for hire. The concessionary rate of just £50 per week (set up Sunday, open Monday to Saturday) will be available for members, though when the small gallery is hired, the hirer(s) must now man, or arrange manning for each day. Members will be expected to also supervise any Highlife Highland exhibition which is on in the main gallery, but not any private main gallery exhibition. 

The small gallery will also be available at times when no exhibitions are in the main gallery.

Non members can also hire the small gallery, but at a weekly rate of £70. To qualify as a member for small gallery hire you MUST have paid your membership by the AGM on March 29th. You can hire as an individual, or as a group, either for arts or for crafts but note that if any one or more members of your group are not SBSA members, the non member rate will apply.

The following dates are currently available –

Fri 10th May – Sat 18th May (note setup on Thu 9th, Fri/Sat/Sun extra days free)

Mon 20th May – Sun 26th May (extra day free)

Mon 8th July – Sat 13th July

Mon 15th July – Sat 20th July BOOKED

Mon 22nd July – Sun 28th July BOOKED

Sat 7th Sept – Sat 14th Sept (note setup on Friday 6th and Sat/Sun extra days free) 

Sun 15th Sept – Sat 21st Sept BOOKED

Sun 22nd Sept – Sat 28th Sept (note setup on Sun morning up to 1pm)

Mon 7th Oct – Sat 12th Oct BOOKED – both galleries

Mon 14th Oct – Sat 19th Oct (no main gallery booking at present)

Mon 21st Oct – Sat 26th Oct (no main gallery booking at present)

Bookings should be made to Dave Fallows using the form downloadable from the website with 50% payment on booking (via cheque or bank transfer) but check the website for latest information on dates available.

Dates can be reserved by email to badenochandstratharts@gmail.com

If booking more than one week concurrently, the intervening Sunday is available for you to open without additional charge.

____________________________________________________________

COMMUNITY BOOKINGS

This year, we are actively encouraging community and group bookings for the gallery spaces – not just for artistic purposes, but also for meetings, workshops or even small scale performance events. We are pleased to announce the following bookings already made for gallery space and will be happy to discuss any other possibilities.

Generally, the gallery is not open for exhibitions until noon, leaving the mornings potentially available, and evenings will also be available in normal circumstances.

If you have a need for space for a community use, or private event, give David Fallows a call on 01540 673966, or email badenochandstratharts@gmail.com

Please bear in mind that we only have large scale seating or open space available when there are no exhibition bookings, and that the gallery has neither a liquor nor entertainments licence n its own right, so all food and drink must be not for sale and provided to invitees only, whilst if an entertainments licence is required for your event, obtaining one will be your own responsibility and cost. (this latter condition may change in future)

CURRENT BOOKINGS for 2019
2nd Monday of every month – Kingussie Community Council – evenings